Half term flying visits

One of the immense benefits of having a grandparent less than an hour and a half away is the opportunity to actually have a break from children during half term. I love children, especially my own. However, being able to have one or two days where I can miss them, is actually healthy.

I have had the chance to talk to my husband and spend time with him, without having to keep one eye and ear atuned to what my girls are up to. I don’t have to read through countless redrafts of their 500 words entries nor do I have to follow them with a dustpan and brush while glitter and sparkly things drop on my carpet after a craft activity in a different part of the house.

This said; I miss them. Even after only two or three days away. I enjoy their company and chatter; even though my 9 year old talks so fast I have to ask her to repeat herself constantly.

One of the main things I enjoy about collecting them at the end of their allotted break is finding out what they have done, how many DVDs they have consumed, the experiences they have gained, and on this occasion, the terms they have left behind.

So, thank you Nana for giving me the break I needed and I’m sorry you have been left with a cold you didn’t have last week.

Published by

@charlieferrett

I have been teaching English for 20 years. HOD. T and L. Runner.

One thought on “Half term flying visits”

  1. I love having them. We had a lovely cream tea and the Green Dragon , they behaved so well in fact if you will forgive the pun, “Butter wouldn’t melt” the waitress was well impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

