That bit between Christmas and New year…

It’s that bit in the middle, Christmas week. Which seems like a few Sundays and a few Saturdays all mixed together. No one ever knows what the day is, it’s the only time of the year where we know the date first…people have been at the sales, sporting venues and at work in shops all day!

We have said goodbye to the relatives and all the family are in bed, it’s 8pm.
I did something new today; I marshalled for our local parkrun event in Wolverhampton. Parkrun is a weekly 5k timed run that take place in different venues up and down the country. For many it’s the first place they go to run with others. Kind of a coming out fit thing. I have now done 4 parkruns. I have a lot to go to get my 50th run TShirt. I am making an effort. But today I put on a hi vis jacket and stood and applauded people as they ran round the route. It was fun; I enjoyed it. But it was cold. About 2 degrees, if the car is to be believed.

Why did I volunteer? Because without volunteers, the event can’t take place. I’m not so good that I can run all by myself properly yet, but I appreciate that if there weren’t people willing to do this, then I wouldn’t even have a chance to participate. I see young men smash their times, old men chase their dreams, families with expectations and aspirations and the plodders, who, like me, just want to see if they can.

Without volunteers. Imagine our lives and those of the needy without volunteers. Thankfully I know many friends who have volunteered over Christmas, and I thank them for making this effort, much greater than my hour this morning. Thank you for volunteering.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for following my blog, giving me an audience and encouraging me to keep jotting my thoughts down. Happy New Year to you all.

I am enjoying my break, I need the sleep. I have marking to do and a few family and friends to catch up with, but for now there is peace and there is calm and there is Mulled wine. 🙂

Published by

@charlieferrett

I have been teaching English for 20 years. HOD. T and L. Runner.

Leave a Reply

