So why am I doing an insane sports challenge? Jantastic…my apology.

About two weeks ago a friend of mine introduced me to the Facebook group ‘Run Mummy Run’. It does exactly as it suggests; a group of like minded females who juggle home life and the desire to keep fit and healthy through running. I was intrigued, I’m not a runner. I can count for you the number of ‘runs’ I have done – ever. Five 5k and two 2k with my daughters and a couple of plods either round the block or on the treadmill. That’s it. And one of those occasions gained me shin splints!

So why am I signing up to a commitment that will last three months? To be honest I thought it was one, and as I type I am contemplating backing out! Jantastic sounds like a one month, four week commitment. And if I did that I’m sure I could manage. But (and it is a big one) would I actually see any difference in myself in four weeks?

It’s not just about the physical fitness, it’s not just about New Year New Leaf, it’s about my mental strength. Telling my mind that physically I can achieve this and that it needs to stop complaining and enjoy the ride. I want to achieve something I have never done. I want to run a 5k in less than 35mins and a 10k in less than 1 hour 20min, although I have no idea if I can yet. I will have a better idea by the end of March.

If I have these aspirations, and they aren’t pie in the sky wishes, then others may have. Jantastic is an amazing creation to motivate and support. I have joined team RMR (Run mummy run) and I know I will have the chance to meet, chat and post my journey, along with the other mummys who are either revisiting this challenge or who are, like me, starting to find out something new about themselves.

If you do nothing else this year, join a team for Jantastic and set yourself a goal…because if you don’t do it no one can do it for you. Have a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

Published by

@charlieferrett

I have been teaching for 26 years, NPQSL, T and L, PSHE/RSE, Runner.

Leave a comment