Should we abandon reading for pleasure?

I love reading and this hits the nail on the head.

stevewillshaw

IMG_0269.JPG
Let’s be clear about this from the start.

I have nothing against reading –

I am a massive supporter of reading. It can have a very positive impact on many aspects of people’s lives, especially young people. Nor have I anything against pleasure! My concern is that yoking the two together doesn’t do reading any favours.

Reasons why we should stop talking about reading for pleasure.

1. It sounds like special pleading. “Yes, honestly folks, you will enjoy this!”
We wouldn’t use this approach with sports or arts, both of which many people find pleasurable, so why do we with reading?
2. It encourages a range of negative responses. “Who says it is pleasurable? I don’t enjoy it and I’m not going to do it. You can’t force me to enjoy it!”

Alternative approaches
1. Find as many different ways of encouraging all members of the school community to read…

View original post 183 more words

Published by

@charlieferrett

I have been teaching English for 20 years. HOD. T and L. Runner.

Leave a Reply

